Live Updates & Results from the Fort William DH World Cup 2022

The second round of the 2022 downhill World Cup is underway at Fort William. In the Junior Women’s racing Gracey Hemstreet backed up her Lourdes win with another sizeable victory at Fort William. A slow third split caused Phoebe Gale to lose her grasp on the lead and despite pulling back around three seconds on the last parts of the course she would have to settle for 2nd. Pinkbike Racing’s Aimi Kenyon had an incredible run to cross the line only six seconds back and took third place. In an amazingly close race for such a long track Jordan Williams just pulled ahead of Jackson Goldstone by only 0.038 seconds. It looks like Jackson lost most of his time in the final split but both riders had runs that would have seen them in the top three in yesterday’s qualifying. Remy Meier-Smith completed the top three and was the only rider to come within 12 seconds of the top two.

Nina Hoffmann takes her first Fort William win and the first victory here for Germany as she crosses the line over three and a half seconds up. Camille Balanche couldn’t match the speed of Nina today but managed to have a clean run down the hill to second place and continues to hold the overall title lead. Myriam Nicole is still recovering from the effect of her concussion but secured third place.

Stay tuned for live results and updates.


Live timing is available here.


Results:


Elite Women


1st. Nina Hoffmann: 5:14.170
2nd Camille Balanche: +3,615
3rd Myriam Nicole: +7.172
4th. Eleanor Farina: +9,621
5th. Vali Hell: +11,478


Junior Women


1st. Gracey Hemstreet: 5:37.496
2nd Phoebe Gale: +2,947
3rd Aimi Kenyon: +6,067
4th. Jenna Hastings: +14,527
5th. Lisa Bouladou: +25,953


junior men


1st. Jordan Williams: 4:38.485
2nd Jackson Goldstone: +0.038
3rd Remy Meier Smith: +4,476
4th. Henry Pine: +12,461
5th. Bodhi Kuhn: +13,927


full results:

Elite Women

Junior Women

junior men


Live Race Updates:

Stay tuned for live updates and results from the Fort William DH World Cup

The Elite Women’s racing kicks off at: PDT 04:30 / EDT 7:30 / BST 12:30 / CEST 13:30

The Elite Men will start at: PDT 5:30 / EDT 8:30 / BST 13:30 / CEST 14:30

4:30 am PDT

The Elite Women’s race is now underway as Mariana Salazar takes to the course first.

4:37 am PDT

Anna Newkirk crosses the line with a time of 5:41.709, this is still around 20 seconds off the fastest qualifier.

4:38 am PDT

Flying into the lead by over five seconds Mille Johnset takes the fastest time so far today.

4:40 am PDT

After the first five Elite Women the top three are:

1st. Mille Johnset: 5:36.321
2nd Monika Hrastnik: +4,760
3rd Anna Newkirk: +5,388

4:46 am PDT

A mistake from Mathilde Bernard sees her almost slide off the track but she manages to find some grip and stay between the tape.

4:48 am PDT

Mathilde Bernard goes across the line in fifth place, 12 seconds off the time of Mille Johnset.

4:49 am PDT

Green all the way down, Veronika Widmann flies into the lead so far by almost seven seconds. We are now within ten seconds of the fastest qualifier.

4:51 am PDT

Nina Hoffmann smashes the time of Veronika Widmann and goes six seconds faster than Camille Balanche’s qualifying run.

4:55 am PDT

UK racer Stacey Fisher enters the finish area in fourth place, 23 seconds back.

4:58 am PDT

Mikayla Parton goes into third place after a clean run down the brutal track.

5:01 am PDT

Eleonora Farina comes the closest so far to Nina but she is still over nine and a half seconds back.

5:04 am PDT

Marine Cabirou has to avoid the road gap after she slides out on the entrance to the jump. This mistake will have cost her a lot of time.

5:05 am PDT

Despite the mistake, Marine’s time is still good enough for sixth place so far with three riders left.

5:08 am PDT

Myriam Nicole can’t match Nina Hoffmann’s speed and finishes in second place, just over seven seconds behind the current leader.

5:10 am PDT

With two riders to go the top five Elite Women are:

1st. Nina Hoffmann: 5:14.170
2nd Myriam Nicole: +7.172
3rd Eleanor Farina: +9,621
4th. Marine Cabirou: +12,394
5th. Veronica Widman: +15.214

5:11 am PDT

Vali Höll slides out in the second split after being very close to Nina one the first part of the track.

5:13 am PDT

Vali Höll goes into fourth place after her crash at the top of the course.

5:16 am PDT

Nina Hoffmann wins in Fort William after Camille Balanche crosses the line over three seconds back.

5:17 am PDT

The top five elite women are:

1st. Nina Hoffmann: 5:14.170
2nd Camille Balanche: +3,615
3rd Myriam Nicole: +7.172
4th. Eleanor Farina: +9,621
5th. Vali Hell: +11,478

5:31 am PDT

The Elite Men are now on course with Yannick Baechler taking the first run of the race.

5:53 am PDT

After the first 15 riders the top five Elite Men are:

1st. Austin Dooley: 4:47.657
2nd Roger Viera: +1,561
3rd Dennis Luffman: +2,339
4th. Mark Wallace: +2,681
5th. Kirk McDowall: +4,199

6:05 am PDT

Ben Cathro crosses the line in 2nd place so far, just 0.431 seconds back.

6:09 am PDT

Connor Fearon lays down an incredible run to find 1.379 seconds on Austin Dooley’s time to take the lead. Connor’s time is still around 10 seconds off yesterday’s top qualifying time.


.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.